Home

Blogged by Megan on the 6th of May 2010:

“I have done my share of extreme Finnish eating during our stay. I have eaten (and cooked) reindeer. I have sampled many many different small fish in sauces. I love salmiakki. But, until today, I avoided viili. I heard too many horror stories about viili from my non-Finnish friends. I had been told that, like Marmite, you had to be trained to like viili as a child.

A Finnish friend encouraged me to try viili this morning and so I went out and bought the rhubarb viili and carried it carefully home. Carefully, because my friend explained that real viili has a beige skin that you don’t want to break. This brand was skinless, but I treated it with caution nonetheless.

Verdict? I loved it. I will buy more for Chris to try. You can read more about viili here. And, if you come to Finland give it a try.”

http://coldcoldercoldest.blogspot.com/2010/05/extreme-finnish-food-viili.html

Leave a Reply

