Home
Handlerchief Culture

Handlerchief Culture

“Another memory from childhood was filébunka[3]. I don’t remember where we got our starter but there was always a big bowl of filé in the cupboard. My father ate it plain, but we kids liked sugar on ours. When my father’s sister visited Finland one year, she brought back a small bottle of starter with her when she sailed on the Drottningholm. And we heard that some people soaked a handkerchief in the filé, dried it and brought it back to the US where they soaked it and started another batch of filé. Last year a woman called me from Washington State and said that she would send me a starter if she could get some, but she couldn’t get it.”

I cut this from the Swedish Finn Historical Society (SFHS). It was written by June Pelo.

http://finlander.genealogia.fi/sfhswiki/index.php/My_Family_Traditions

Leave a Reply

