Home

In the exhibition I encouraged people to leave their comments, thoughts and reflections about viili. It is obvious that viili has a passionate place in the hearts of Finns.

My mother eats viili with talkkuna(roasted oat flour). I would not touch either.

My mother eats viili with talkkuna(roasted oat flour). I would not touch either.

When I was little I only liked the cream on top of the viili, so I wanted a wide plate so that I could only eat the cream!

When I was little I only liked the cream on top of the viili, so I wanted a wide plate so that I could only eat the cream!

The time should come where they wouldn't sell viili in the shops, at least not ten different kinds. Let´s make our own viili at home.

The time should come where they wouldn’t sell viili in the shops, at least not ten different kinds. Let´s make our own viili at home.

Have you heard this song? Here is a small piece of it: “ It is Simo Siili (hedgehog) whose great delicacy is viili” . Hedgehogs do not really eat viili because their stomach would go haywire. Do dot give viili to hedgehogs, and no other milk products! But I like viili,it is very good!

Have you heard this song? Here is a small piece of it: “ It is Simo Siili (hedgehog) whose great delicacy is viili” . Hedgehogs do not really eat viili because their stomach would go haywire. Do dot give viili to hedgehogs, and no other milk products! But I like viili,it is very good!

Grandmother makes her own viili in the summer, but it doesn´t have same velvety surface as the shop viili.

Grandmother makes her own viili in the summer, but it doesn´t have same velvety surface as the shop viili.

When I was a child my friends mother made her own viili on top of the fridge. It was wonderful with cinnamon and sugar!

When I was a child my friends mother made her own viili on top of the fridge. It was wonderful with cinnamon and sugar!

Viili loves cinnamon with sugar.

Viili loves cinnamon with sugar.

Villi_0081

Viili is sometimes good, sometimes bad.

Viili is sometimes good, sometimes bad.

Viili is gentle soft shell.

Viili is gentle soft shell.

Finns have an annual consumption of 4,5 kg viili a year per person!

Finns have an annual consumption of 4,5 kg viili a year per person!

Viili is good.

Viili is good.

I love viili.

I love viili.

Villi_0075

Yummy, yummy...

Yummy, yummy…

It is pity that hedgehogs cannot eat viili, because their stomach goes haywire from milk products. It is yummy that viili...

It is pity that hedgehogs cannot eat viili, because their stomach goes haywire from milk products. It is yummy that viili…

I´m not really a viili-human!

I´m not really a viili-human!

Yuk. It also smells bad...

Yuk. It also smells bad…

Viili is good and healthy. Good.

Viili is good and healthy. Good.

Viili is good. Guess how good it is ?? Yum, yum...

Viili is good. Guess how good it is ?? Yum, yum…

I don't like it.

I don’t like it.

As a child I ate viili more like eating talkkuna (roasted oat flour) with viili - because I loved talkkuna with sugar.

As a child I ate viili more like eating talkkuna (roasted oat flour) with viili – because I loved talkkuna with sugar.

Viili is in <3

Viili is in ❤

Viili has lot of milk.

Viili has lot of milk.

Viili is pretty ok.

Viili is pretty ok.

viili <3

viili ❤

Villi_0062

Viili is good, really good, viili is hot, really good. Sylvi 8 years.

Viili is good, really good, viili is hot, really good. Sylvi 8 years.

Villi_0060

Strawberry-viili <3

Strawberry-viili ❤

Viili is good!

Viili is good!

Villi_0056

Viili is pretty ok.

Viili is pretty ok.

Is it possible to make viili from milk-mushrooms (so called Tibetian mushrooms)? Anyway, with those you can make awesome kefir, the piimä (buttermilk?) which will cure all diseases.

Is it possible to make viili from milk-mushrooms (so called Tibetian mushrooms)? Anyway, with those you can make awesome kefir, the piimä (buttermilk?) which will cure all diseases.

In her 60´s my grandmother always had (every day) some thick cows milk becoming viili in the "warm cupboard". As I remember some water was added to it and after one night it was ready.

In her 60´s my grandmother always had (every day) some thick cows milk becoming viili in the “warm cupboard”. As I remember some water was added to it and after one night it was ready.

Interesting, that history of Finnish viili found in the United States.

Interesting, that history of Finnish viili found in the United States.

Viili is pretty good sometimes, no, always.

Viili is pretty good sometimes, no, always.

 Viili is :)

Viili is 🙂

Curdled milk products may have been discovered by Neolithic people shortly after they learned to milk animals.

Curdled milk products may have been discovered by Neolithic people shortly after they learned to milk animals.

When you are sad, eat viili. It helps!

When you are sad, eat viili. It helps!

Its the weekend and the good “viilinki” = feeling.

Its the weekend and the good “viilinki” = feeling.

Viili is a good deal! said the hedgehog (siili).

Viili is a good deal! said the hedgehog (siili).

Is there TÄLLAST (?) inside viili? Viili is still good.

Is there TÄLLAST (?) inside viili? Viili is still good.

The world´s best viili is the one my mother made in childhood!

The world´s best viili is the one my mother made in childhood!

Home made viili reminds me of my grandmother. She used make it for me.

Home made viili reminds me of my grandmother. She used make it for me.

Viili is delicious!

Viili is delicious!

Viili is yummy.

Viili is yummy.

My mother in law makes blueberry-viili with the secret recipe. It´s better than from the shop.

My mother in law makes blueberry-viili with the secret recipe. It´s better than from the shop.

I was always the last one finishing my meal around the dining table, because there was so much viili

I was always the last one finishing my meal around the dining table, because there was so much viili

Viili is good.

Viili is good.

I like strawberry-viili

I like strawberry-viili

Some viilis are not to my taste.

Some viilis are not to my taste.

My grandmother was buying viili-pots in the beginning of the 60´s. She told me the best viili was made in pee-potties and she chose the most beautiful one!

My grandmother was buying viili-pots in the beginning of the 60´s. She told me the best viili was made in pee-potties and she chose the most beautiful one!

Viili and piepo, they start the day!  (Piepo, another word for talkkuna: smoked oat flower)

Viili and piepo, they start the day! (Piepo, another word for talkkuna: smoked oat flower)

When I was little I always ate pink viili with my eyes closed:)

When I was little I always ate pink viili with my eyes closed:)

Aunty Aune made the best viili from warm cows milk poured into glass pots in the 50`s

Aunty Aune made the best viili from warm cows milk poured into glass pots in the 50`s

Viili is acidic

Viili is acidic

 I eat my viili with castor sugar, and also vanilla-sugar.

I eat my viili with castor sugar, and also vanilla-sugar.

Viili is interesting food.

Viili is interesting food.

The memory of  childhood eating viili made with milk from our own cow still makes my mouth water.

The memory of childhood eating viili made with milk from our own cow still makes my mouth water.

Viili is really good.

Viili is really good.

When I was little I ate viili on sweet allowance days.

When I was little I ate viili on sweet allowance days.

Viili is good.

Viili is good.

I eat my viili without additives

I eat my viili without additives

I did my master about viili. During my master I made about 3000 viili pots and I tasted them all. Now I´m eating viili again.

I did my master about viili. During my master I made about 3000 viili pots and I tasted them all. Now I´m eating viili again.

Viili is deliciously good.

Viili is deliciously good.

Viili is healthy and natural.

Viili is healthy and natural.

Viili is good and lol:)

Viili is good and lol:)

Very soon I might have a goat and then I want to learn to make goat-viili. Will see how it goes!

Very soon I might have a goat and then I want to learn to make goat-viili. Will see how it goes!

I do not like viili, but the name of my cat is Viili

I do not like viili, but the name of my cat is Viili

Good and healthy, yummy...

Good and healthy, yummy…

viili :) viili :)

viili 🙂 viili 🙂

Could thunder affect the viili?

Could thunder affect the viili?

 If you make the viili from raw milk, you get creamy viili (tinkimaito = raw milk straight from farm).

If you make the viili from raw milk, you get creamy viili (tinkimaito = raw milk straight from farm).

Villi_0014

My mother add ginger and sugar to her viili!

My mother add ginger and sugar to her viili!

Root (culture) can be taken from the shop-viili

Root (culture) can be taken from the shop-viili

From where could I get that root (culture)? I would immediately start making it

From where could I get that root (culture)? I would immediately start making it

Viili includes lot of milk and yoghurt.

Viili includes lot of milk and yoghurt.

“Viilis” = “feelings”

“Viilis” = “feelings”

Viili must be covered with a thick cream top.

Viili must be covered with a thick cream top.

Villi_0010

 I have only ate commercially made viili (from the shop). Pretty good.

I have only ate commercially made viili (from the shop). Pretty good.

Viili is tasty, delicious and gooey.

Viili is tasty, delicious and gooey.

Viili is the best. Viili!

Viili is the best. Viili!

Viili is healthy for children!

Viili is healthy for children!

Villi

Viili is delicious with the home made rose hip jam!

Viili is delicious with the home made rose hip jam!

Hi is calm as a pot of viili =He is calm as  a cucumber( cool, calm, not nervous, know what to do....)

Hi is calm as a pot of viili =He is calm as a cucumber( cool, calm, not nervous, know what to do….)

One thought on “Viili notes

Leave a Reply

